Kurt Vile Releases “Wakin on a Pretty Day” and Details New Album and Tour Dates

Kurt Vile Wakin on a Pretty Day Kurt Vile Releases Wakin on a Pretty Day and Details New Album and Tour Dates

Kurt Vile is back in the game with his back shelf poetry and loping guitar playing. Vile’s distinctive sound is impossible to mistake at this point in his already prolific career and the latest cut “Wakin on a Pretty Day” slips next to “Smoke Ring For My Halo” like the next book in a series. Lo-fi production, squeaky echos of guitar and always that lackadaisical voice spitting phrases that cut closer to the core of daily life than ever seems possible. Matador has released the nine minute track for free download so you can grab it below.

The details for his next album, entitled “Waking on a Pretty Daze” have also been released — on April 9 we get a 69 minute double LP. In addition, visuals to accompany the song have been released as well. Matador has specified that this isn’t the official video but just footage from the documentary that fellow Philadelphia-based artist Steve Powers (ESPO) is making on the painting Powers did for the album’s cover (above).

Watch the video below and check out his international tour dates. Also ponder how the first track from his album is named only one word away from the album title — such a genius bit of wordplay there.

2013 Tour Dates with The Violators

Sun, Apr 14 – Indio CA – Coachella Festival
Sun, Apr 21 – Indio CA – Coachella Festival
Sun, May 4 – Atlanta GA – Shaky Knees Festival
Mon, May 5 – Atlanta GA – Shaky Knees Festival
Tue, May 7 – Los Angeles CA – Echoplex # *
Wed, May 8 – San Francisco CA – Independent *
Fri, May 10 – Portland OR – Doug Fir # *
Sat, May 11 – Vancouver BC – Biltmore # *
Sun, May 12 – Seattle WA – Neumos # *
Tue, May 14 – Chicago IL – Lincoln Hall *
Thu, May 16 – New York NY – Bowery Ballroom * !
Fri, May 17 – Boston MA – The Sinclair * !
Sat, May 18 – Philadelphia PA – Union Transfer * !
Fri, May 24 – Barcelona ES – Primavera Sound Festival
Sat, May 25 – London GB – Field Day
Sun, May 26 – Brussels BE – AB
Mon, May 27 – Amsterdam NL – Paradiso
Tue, May 28 – Hamburg DE – Knust
Wed, May 29 – Copenhagen DK – Amager Bio

# The Fresh & Onlys
* Steve Gunn
! Angel Olsen

(Matador)