Last Thursday, the first episode of our Beats 1 Takeover aired. It's been replaying each day since, and you can catch it one final time on Beats 1 Radio today, Sunday January 8 at 9 p.m. PST / midnight EST. If you missed the show, don't worry, because it's also streaming on demand here.

We were excited to debut brand new music from young Memphis artist Jon Waltz who we've been following since 2013's "Bang." He leveled up at the end of 2016 with "Riot" and now he's winning in 2017 with "Plastic Beach," which, for the moment, you can only hear in our show. Flying across the pond to the U.K., we debuted new music from the New Gen album, a collaborative project that brings together some of the best talents in the underground rap scene on one era defining record. After debuting the opening track, "Welcome to the New Gen" featuring Bonkaz and Avelino, Caroline, who put the project together, shared some insight into the New Gen movement and the bubbling British rap scene.

Our final premiere came from formerly mysterious singer 24hrs, who got an assist from Yo Gotti on "Tour," plus, special guest 6LACK dropped in to break down his hit "PRBLMS" and Kamau laced us with an incredible theme song. We also played music from Saint JHN, Jorja Smith, Noname, Ro Ransom, WillTheRapper, Little Simz, and more artists who are set to do big things in 2017. 

Getting a chance to share the music we love from the rising artists we believe in on this discovery themed episode was huge. We're always looking for new ways to reach people and connect with our audience, whether that's through daily videos (subscribe to P&P on YouTube to keep up), live shows, physical objects like merch, or this Beats 1 Takeover.

Listen back to the first show here and tune in to Beats 1 on Thursday January 12 at 10 p.m. EST / 7 p.m. PST for our second show, the Viral Episode.