Sufjan Stevens is a mysterious creature. With Come On Feel The Illinoise! he had one of the best albums of the decade. After that, he’s carried out a series of strange moves. From religiously heavy Christmas albums to wacky 20 minute 8-bit electronic songs, it’s hard to know what to expect from the man. In another strange move, Sufjan has released an EP out of nowhere. No promotion or announcement that I’ve heard. And according to PMA:

In his label’s words, All Delighted People “is built around two different versions of Sufjan’s long-form epic ballad “All Delighted People,” a dramatic homage to the Apocalypse, existential ennui, and Paul Simon’s “Sounds of Silence.”

Sounds like something that I’d walk across the street to avoid, but it’s Sufjan, so I gave it a listen. At times, it’s too much for me. At this point in my life, I am simply and ignorantly not interested in listening to a song for 17 minutes. I will bite my tongue off and chew it if the time comes that a new 17 minute song gets released that doesn’t make me think “It could have been shorter”, but for now, I think it’s a little self indulgent.

The positive side is that the EP features 10 songs and most of them are, despite their out-there inspiration, wonderful, and exactly what you’d expect from Sufjan. Plus, it’s only $5. I’m going to buy it. Listen below. If you want, buy it here.