Image via Rappcats

Image via Rappcats

It’s clear that J Dilla had a LOT of unreleased music, but for the the most part the stuff that has seen the light of day has been instrumental. The Estate of James Yancey has revived its longstanding company PayJay to release a long lost vocal album, The Diary, which was originally intended for release all the way back in 2002. Assembled over a ten year period from masters found in Dilla’s archives shortly after his untimely death in 2006, the album will finally see release April 15.

The completion of The Diary was overseen by the general manager of Stones Throw Records, Eothen Alapatt, who previously oversaw the remastering of Ruff Draft back in 2008. The album features production from Dilla himself, Madlib, Pete Rock, House Shoes, Hi-tek, and Karriem Riggins among others. The album also features a number of guest spots, including Snoop Dogg and Kokane.

Listen to the first track from the album, “The Introduction,” below.

The Diary Tracklist:

1. The Introduction
2. The Anthem feat. Frank & Dank
3. Fight Club feat. Nottz & Boogie
4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) feat. Kenny Wray
5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
6. Trucks
7. Gangsta Boogie feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane
8. Drive Me Wild
9. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex feat. Bilal
12. So Far
13. Fuck The Police
14. The Diary