After failing to meet a promised September 30 release date for his new album Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin' "due to some minor sample clearances still being finalized," Kid Cudi promised to officially release "Frequency" and "Surfin'" within the next 48 hours. Turns out we didn't have to wait quite that long, as he dropped off the two songs this evening.

Fans of his early work should be happy to hear Cudi returning to the melodic hip-hop sound he helped pioneer before veering in an experimental rock direction on his last couple records.

On the Pharrell Williams-featuring "Surfin'" Cudi reinforces his status as an innovator with a hook that shouts: "I ain't ridin' no waves, too busy making my own waves." Then he doubles down on his highly publicized recent frustrations with the industry by rapping, "The industry is so full of shit / Welcome y'all to the enema / Nah man that's subliminal / Cause they insecure, they know who they are."

Listen to "Surfin'" below via Apple Music, along with the final version of the previously-shared "Frequency." Non-subscribers can listen to previews of each song for now, but Cudi promised that Spotify and Google Play versions will be available soon. We'll update this post when that happens.