“Down By The Water” is off of The Decemberists’ upcoming The King Is Dead, out in January. The song features R.E.M guitarist Peter Buck and Gillian Welch. Enter your email address in that little widget below to download the track. Peter Buck’s influence on the song seems pretty strong. This definitely has an REM sound to it – reminds me a lot of “Shiny Happy People” no? Yes. I dig it though.

Hit the jump for the tracklist…

The King Is Dead Tracklist:
01. Don’t Carry It All
02. Calamity Song
03. Rise to Me
04. Rox in the Box
05. January Hymn
06. Down By the Water
07. All Arise!
08. June Hymn
09. This Is Why We Fight
10. Dear Avery