Cannibal Ox, the underground NYC rap duo whose 2001 debut The Cold Vein was the inspiration for this blog’s very name, have announced the details of their long-awaited sophomore effort. Blade Of The Ronin will be released March 3, and feature appearances by MF DOOM, U-GodElzhi, and Artifacts. MCs Vordul Megilah and Vast Aire emerged as part of New York rap’s vanguard after the now-classic The Cold Vein, produced by fellow NYC hip-hop hero El-P.

As much as their rhymes convey the realities of day-to-day life in Harlem, they also have a flair for the mythic and the epic—themes that seem like they could be equally important on Blade Of The Ronin (a Wu-Tang-esque samurai reference). Taking El-P’s place is producer Bill Cosmiq, who created the beat for Cannibal Ox’s most recent release “Gotham” (which will appear on the record).

Listen to 2013’s Gotham “maxi-single” below, and read our interview with Vast Aire here.

Here’s the full tracklist:

1. Cipher Unknown (Intro)
2. Opposite of Desolate ft. Double A.B.
3. Psalm 82
4. The Power Cosmiq ft. Kenyattah Black
5. Blade: The Art of Ox ft. Artifacts & U-God (of Wu-Tang Clan)
6. Pressure of Survival (Skit)
7. Carnivorous ft. Elzhi & Bill Cosmiq
8. Thunder In July ft. Space, Swave Sevah & Elohem Star
9. Water
10. The Horizon (Interlude)
11. Harlem Knights
12. Sabertooth ft. Irealz & Bill Cosmiq
13. Iron Rose ft. MF Doom
14. Solar System (Cosmos) (Skit)
15. The Fire Rises
16. Gotham (Ox City)
17. Unison (Skit)
18. Vision ft. The Quantum
19. Salvation